--- title: "Automatic Deactivation of Users" slug: "how-to-automatically-deactivate-users-with-no-activity" updated: 2026-10-01T02:00:00Z published: 2026-10-01T02:00:00Z canonical: "success.panaya.com/how-to-automatically-deactivate-users-with-no-activity" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://success.panaya.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Automatic Deactivation of Users Panaya provides administrators the option to deactivate users with no activity. Admins can define the **inactivity period** that will trigger the deactivation of users. Use **automatic user deactivation** to manage user **statuses** ([active/inactive](/v1/docs/how-to-set-users-as-active-inactive)) based on your Panaya subscription and available licenses. To enable automatic user deactivation, contact [Panaya Support](/v1/docs/check-out-panayas-support-portal) Users with specific roles are excluded from automatic deactivationAutomatic deactivation of users is performed every week and does **not include users** with the following **roles:** - Admin - Project Manager - API User ## **Setting automatic user deactivation** 1. Click on the **Settings button![](https://cdn.document360.io/f404076c-de23-4609-848e-2dfd4ef701b0/Images/Documentation/image-1639048168486.png)** to open up the Settings panel 2. Select **Users** 3. Click on **Auto Users Deactivation** ![](https://cdn.document360.io/f404076c-de23-4609-848e-2dfd4ef701b0/Images/Documentation/image-1639048188299.png) 4. If Automatic Users Deactivation is Off, set it to **On** to view the configuration details 5. **Define the inactivity period** that will trigger the deactivation of users. You can [exclude specific users from being deactivated](/v1/docs/how-to-automatically-deactivate-users-with-no-activity#excluding-specific-users-from-being-deactivated). 6. **Select which users** should receive **email notifications about deactivating users** ![](https://cdn.document360.io/f404076c-de23-4609-848e-2dfd4ef701b0/Images/Documentation/image-1639048237469.png) 7. Click **Save** The following automatic **email notification** will be sent - - To users, 7 days before their deactivation - To deactivated users, immediately upon deactivation - To Administrators and Project Managers, including a list of deactivated users and users pending deactivation (weekly) --- ## **Excluding specific users** from being deactivated To **exclude specific users** from being **deactivated**, set the **Auto user deactivation** option in the **[user details panel](/v1/docs/how-to-manage-users-in-panaya)** to **off**. By default, **Auto user deactivation** is set to **On**. ![](https://cdn.document360.io/f404076c-de23-4609-848e-2dfd4ef701b0/Images/Documentation/image-1639048250290.png) ## Related - [Setting Users as Active or Inactive](/how-to-set-users-as-active-inactive.md)